I have been lucky enough over the last week (and with the help of my wife putting up with me) to get enough time to finally finish the novel that I have been working on for about 18 months. I started writing it when I was in a bad place, both physically and mentally, and completed it in a much better place.

It was meant to be a relatively small novel of just over that mark of 40,000 words. By the time I had finished the first draft, it was 50,000. And now with the finishing off of the second draft it has reached some 85,000 words. I hope, with some editing, that it may come down to the 80,000 word mark by the end of a read-through.

It is called ‘Long Lost Song’ and plays with the urban myth of selling your soul at the crossroads. The enjoyment in writing this novel has been amplified by the enjoyment in the research as well. Learning about 1930’s America was something I had not contemplated before, but after needing to know, I found the whole subject fascinating.

It was a hard time. I realise how bland that is, but these people really suffered. They watched their farms get blown away, they saw great dust storms in a daily basis and they could do almost nothing about it. One of my main characters comes from this time to become a famous musician.

The other main character is a musician as well, but that’s where it started to change.

I have included some interesting tags with this post as the book uses them. I apologise if you were looking for them to be used in this post. I am sorry that I cannot share more with you in this blog entry. If you would like to have a look at some of it let me know and I may be easily convinced.

