I like music. I love listening to music and I love collecting it. It must be said that I probably have too much music for my own good. I have a huge collection of music that I have been developing for a long time.

But the problem I am finding as I get older is that I cannot find music that moves me like I thought it used to or should. More and more it all seems too over produced and lacking real imagination.

Is the music industry hampering the real creativeness of bands that have a different sound to what is commercial? It sounds to me that the Big 4 music companies invest so much money in only a couple of sounds that it becomes too big a gamble to try something different?

Based on this I seem to find myself going back to a handful of albums that I sort of rely on to help my mood. I am going to list a few of them here (band name then album title).

Loud(ish) albums:
The Butterfly Effect – Begins Here
Bloc Party – Intimacy
Nine Inch Nails – The Downward Spiral

Quieter albums:
Death Cab For Cutie – Narrow Stairs
My Morning Jacket – Evil Urges

It is old age that makes me want to listen to ‘old’ music? Or has music stagnated where it is all the same sound just reused too many times?

Does it matter? Can it change? Will it change? Or has big business crushed music to be just another type of fast food? The sort you listen to and next minute you want to listen to it again.

I hope that it can change. Maybe it takes getting out and listening to some local band and buying their self produced, self made Ep or album. You never know you might hear the next big ALTERNATIVE thing.

