For years both my wife and I have enjoyed the television series Dexter. The idea of a do-gooder serial killer has always fascinated me. Inasmuch, when we watched the first series I was able to predict much of what happened in that first season after about two episodes. Marieke was amazed.

Dexter

That started our love affair with Mr Dexter Morgan. As a present, I bought Marieke the omnibus edition of Dexter. It included the first three novels written by Jeff Lindsay.

Marieke read the beginning of the first book in the series some time ago. She got rather bored by it as we had watched that first series and it was very similar. But then she started the second book. All I heard was ‘Who did what now?’. Within minutes, she gave up the second book and found her place in the first again. Many oohs and aahs and nooooos followed.

Since then, I have decided that I should read the book. But, as a bit of fun, we are going to watch the first series at the same time. Hopefully, in a post in a week or so, I will be able to say whether I think the book or the television series is better.

And before you have a go at me about comparing television to book, this is only my personal opinion. I will try not to add spoilers to that future post but guarantees!! It is almost six years since that first season premiered so I don’t think that I will be giving away too much really.

This is also not endorsed by Showtime, but a little bit of free advertising never hurt anybody!!

Let me know if you have read the book and watched the show and which you find the more enjoyable.

