The Dirty Streets of Heaven by Tad Williams

The Dirty Streets of Heaven by Tad Williams

I have been reading Tad Williams’ books ever since his publication of The Dragonbone Chair.  So when I saw a twitter asking for readers of Tad’s new series I jumped at the opportunity.  I will preface this by saying that I am reading a preview copy of the book supplied by Tad.

Let me tell you – it is very different from his other writing with a grittiness that I have not seen before.  From his high fantasy series of the The Dragonbone Chair, through the Shadowmarch series and even The War of the Flowers, Tad is amongst the best fantasy authors for his complex and multi-layered storylines.

His Otherland series was ingenious.  Part fantasy, part science fiction, part genius.  Characters walked between reality and a virtual world chasing down a private cartel of criminals called The Grail Brotherhood.  I loved this series and will not go into it any further as you should experience this for yourself.  Trust me, it is worth the read.

But, The Dirty Streets of Heaven has surprised me.  It is a story of Heaven and Hell and one angel, Bobby Dollar, stuck in the middle of it.  He is not an important angel by any means, but seems to have a real talent for finding trouble.  Or trouble finds him even if he doesn’t want it.

Souls are going missing and nobody knows why.  Both Heaven and Hell are nervous and Bobby Dollar gets sucked into the middle of it.

If you are a seasoned Tad Williams fan, then you are in for a real treat.  This is new ground for our fantasy favourite.  If you haven’t read Tad before then you might like to read this and then have a look at some of his fantasy.  I recommend Otherland.  You will be amazed at how different they will read.

Tad is a master story teller and this series will be up there with his best.

The Dirty Streets of Heaven is the first book in Tad’s new fantasy-fueled thriller series about an afterlife investigator — the angel Doloriel (Bobby Dollar) — who searches for a missing soul and finds himself caught up in a battle much larger than he imagined.

Three books are planned for the series: The Dirty Streets of Heaven, Happy Hour in Hell, and Sleeping Late on Judgment Day. Each will be somewhat shorter than Tad’s usual epic science fiction and fantasy fare, and although part of a series, each may be read as a stand-alone novel.

The Dirty Streets of Heaven will be published in September by DAW Books in the US and by Hodder Stoughton in the UK.

4 thoughts on “The Dirty Streets of Heaven by Tad Williams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s