Let me introduce to you Brad Cotton. Brad has been writing professionally for over a decade and A Work in Progress is his first novel. Look out for his giveaway of signed copies of A Work In Progress.

What do you read? How does it influence you?

I usually read several books at a time, at varying paces. I love P.G. Wodehouse and the classic writers but I’ve been reading more modern books of late. Along with fiction, I really like the reading people like Sam Harris, Christopher Hitchens, Neil Degrasse Tyson, etc. I’m a big fan of philosophy, cosmology, and theoretical physics. Everything I read influences me in one way or another, be it by content or style. If I find no stimulation, I usually don’t finish the book.

When you read, what happens?

Words from the page infiltrate my brain and form images in my mind. I process these images and form coherent thoughts and visions. Depending on the quality of the material, I either enjoy the experience greatly, or not so much. I particularly enjoy such instances involving sarcasm, though it would be hard to give an example.

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

I’ve meddled with a few sci-fi, futuristic ideas, but I don’t know if I have the constitution to see one all the way through to its end. Perhaps one day I’ll have one of my ideas worked out enough to feel confident that it will be a fruitful endeavor. I’ve been thinking about a story revolving around the idea of someone being “time-sick”. After a trauma, perhaps, a character’s synapses begin to fire at varying rates depending on stimuli. They may begin to see things happen in slow motion, or sped up, which could allow for some interesting scenarios.

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it? Does that trigger the story?

I’ve never started with a title. That’s not to say that I wouldn’t, but that I simply haven’t. In my experience a title works itself out organically. I don’t, or haven’t yet, spent much time developing a title. I’ve found that it could be at any point during the writing process that a title just comes to me and it feels right. If it happens a few times during the process, the new one will have to beat out the last.

Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright? If so, which authors are driving it?

I’ve always been intrigued by these genres but I don’t have enough knowledge to comment on which authors I think are driving its success. I would say that as long as people are trying new things, which is the essence of sci-fi and fantasy especially, people will continue to read.

What themes are being overused?

I don’t know that any themes are being overused, per se. As long as someone can bring a fresh perspective or new thought to an idea – more power to them. Vampires and zombies seem to be getting a little tired, but people still love them.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

No. Not at all. And any movie producer reading this, I think what you do is top notch and I like you on a personal level. Thank you for being you. Here’s my email address: brad@bradcotton.com.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

Yes and no. Of course, ebooks are growing in popularity and will snag some of the traditional market, but there are still a lot of readers that want to hold a book in their hands and feel it. I’m one of those readers. I tried going the ereader route but it became very expensive buying a new Kindle or iPad every few weeks and they take up a lot less room on the bookshelf. So…

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

I don’t have a preference. I’ll read anything and everything. I usually go on recommendations, though I do like to support new writers. I like that a lot.

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?

I don’t have a group, but instead only a few people whose input is most important to me. They help me with bits here and there but I make certain that the structure is well in place before passing it around.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

Not at all. I let the story develop on it’s own momentum. My follow up to A Work in Progress is substantially longer simply because it took that many words to resolve itself.

Do you have a target each day?

No way. I don’t have a target for a week or a month or a year either. I write when I’m inspired to write. I think forcing my own hand is counterintuitive. I write because I love it.

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

I take breaks during books.

Do you have characters running around your head? Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

When I’m writing, the world I’m working on is alive in my head. I fall asleep thinking about the characters and plotting their motivations and next moves. When I’m not writing, I’m the character running around in my head… So far I haven’t figured that one out yet.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

TV and drinking and drinking in front of the TV.

Do you remember the first time you saw your book in a shop?

Yes. I was at the Indigo Bookstore at Yorkdale in Toronto. I wish I could say that it was exhilarating, but after such a long process and so much hard work, it was more a relief than anything. Of course, it was certainly rewarding and something I will never forget, but I didn’t jump up and down or anything.

Do you read other people’s writing?

My favorite thing to read is other people’s raw, unpublished writing. Especially people I know. I get a kick out of it.

Would you read mine?

Yes. I should have read ahead. See my last answer.

Thanks for reading Brad’s interview.  Here is some information on the A Work In Progress and Brad himself.

A Unique Lit Fiction Novel with Moving Dialogue!

A Work in Progress is a new literary fiction novel by author Brad Cotton. The book has received great reviews and is on sale from July 23rd to August 3rd! Download your copy here.

In addition, Brad is doing a big giveaway, including a $100 gift certificate to Amazon and signed copies of his book!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tweet, like, follow, share, blog and grab a copy of his book to enter.

Get your copy of A Work in Progress today! On sale on Amazon only.

About A Work in Progress

Writer Danny Bayle’s life is in shambles. His true love has left him and his grandfather — the last and most important influence in his life — has just passed away. Danny has spent the last few months languishing, unable to write a single word, but at the urging of a friend ventures out into the world in an attempt to jumpstart a new life, befriending in the process an interesting assortment of characters including an author, a musician, an artist, and an elderly retired nurse. Garnering the attention of more than one woman, Danny sees his new friends unwittingly begin to shape what could just be the story of his life. But will he ever let go of the girl that got away?

About the author


Born and raised in Toronto, Brad Cotton has been writing professionally for over a decade. An average guitarist, a subpar painter, and a horrible juggler of anything larger than a tangerine, he is currently married to a woman, but does not have a cat, a drum set or any children. A Work in Progress is his first novel.

Learn more about the author and his work at: http://www.bradcotton.com/

