Catherine Green is the author of the Redcliffe series, with the first Love Hurts (A Redcliffe Novel) published in 2011.  The second novel of the Redcliffe series, entitled Love Kills, is widely available now.  She is also a professional tarot reader and spiritual advisor based in the UK.

Let’s now look at the spooky Ms Green’s interview.

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

I plan to write a non-fiction book about my spiritual journey in the future, but I am still exploring it at the moment. Something about modern day shamanism/paganism…

Where do your ideas come from?  Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

I don’t work to formulas. I mainly look at people around me in everyday situations, and wonder how their lives truly are. Usually my imagination turns them into vampires, were-animals and witches, and they end up in my stories!

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it?  Does that trigger the story?

My titles seem to come fairly early on, but they don’t necessarily dictate the story. They are more like a prompt really.

Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright?  If so, which authors are driving it?

I must admit my current genre of choice is paranormal romance, but that sometimes crosses the line into fantasy. I think the genre will always be popular, because people enjoy real escapism (oxymoron intended!) And, with the continual development of technology, I think in some ways writers are looking beyond what we now have, and linking it back to folklore and magic of old. I genuinely believe that it will be the Indie author revolution driving our trends.

What themes are being overused?

Hmm, tricky. I have to say the vampire stories, even though I write them! That said, I maintain that my books offer something different, mainly because they are British.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

No. If anything, they are encouraging people to read the books from which the movies are created.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

Not threatening, but they are causing traditional publishers to step back into the ‘real world’ and accept the true talent that is out there, rather than sticking to the same old archetypes.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

It doesn’t bother me either way, although now I am choosing more debut authors simply because I am meeting them online and I want to read their work. If I like the sound of a story, I will read the book; simple!

What is it about fantasy that appeals to you?

There are no limits. We can write anything and everything that our imagination throws at us, and it becomes real for the reader. And it is far more exciting than daily life most of the time!

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

Cheeky! Yes, alright, since you asked nicely!

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?

My sister was my original beta reader, but now she doesn’t have time. I have a few close personal friends who are very supportive and take an active interest, so they help me out. Generally though, the work is all my own.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

I have a rough idea that I like to keep it around 80,000 words. Personally I struggle to find time to read properly these days, as I know many people do. I prefer a book that isn’t too long, and then I can read the sequel and the subsequent series if necessary. Then again, if I get hooked on a particular novel, I will happily read whatever it contains.

Do you have a target each day?

I try to write a chapter per day, which is roughly 1500 words. Some-days I don’t even look at my manuscript, but I try not to be too self-critical.

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

At the moment I am on a writing frenzy, but only because I am writing the third book in a trilogy and I want it out there as soon as possible. After that I will take a break before I write the fourth Redcliffe novel, but I will probably write something different, since I have ideas for at least a dozen other books burning away in my mind…

Do you have characters running around your head?  Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

Yes, absolutely! They are very domineering, and very demanding. In fact, I walk around in a daydream most of the time because they are telling their story over and over in my mind until I write it down on the computer. It can be quite embarrassing!

After so many books, how do you keep them unique?

We are all individuals, and it’s the same with fictional characters. They become real people to both authors and readers, so their lives become natural to follow.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

Online promotions. I do everything I can to use social networks because it is the most accessible form of advertising at my disposal right now. But it takes an awful lot of time, and I feel resentful because it keeps me away from the actual writing of my art.

Do you remember the first time you saw your book in a shop?

Oh yes! It was wonderful, and I still get a thrill now when I think about it.

Do you read other people’s writing?

Yes I do.

Would you read mine?

Yes if it interests me…!

That’s the interview.  Now for some information on the Redcliffe series and Catherine Green herself.

About the Books

Set in Cornwall, England, the Redcliffe novels follow the adventures of bookshop owner Jessica Stone as she unwittingly falls in love with a vampire, becomes entangled with his identical twin brother’s werewolf pack, and then discovers she is a witch.

In the newly released sequel Love Kills (A Redcliffe Novel) Jessica Stone recovers from an horrific werewolf attack and comes to terms with revelations that her lover, Jack Mason, is a vampire, his brother, Danny, the werewolf pack leader, and her best friend, Simon, is a werewolf.  Add to that her discovery that she is a witch, and life is suddenly a whole lot harder than it used to be. Jessica has to fight for her own life and Jack’s when faced with his jealous vampire master who wants her old lover back. But things are never easy, and a vampire master is not so easy to defeat…

About the Author

Catherine Green lives in South Cheshire, UK, and fits her writing career around raising a young family. She has always been fascinated by the paranormal world, and when not writing about vampires, werewolves and witches, she is usually found ghost hunting or practising her Tarot crafts.

Catherine Green Author Websites:

Author website: http://www.catherine-green.co.uk

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Catherine-Green-Author/254977714519206

Blog: http://www.catherinegreenauthor.blogspot.com

Twitter page: http://twitter.com/SpookyMrsGreen

Goodreads Page – http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2545995.Catherine_Green

Amazon US Author Page – http://www.amazon.com/Catherine-Green/e/B005BTNHTG/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

Amazon UK Author Page – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Catherine-Green/e/B005BTNHTG/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

