Michael Lorde is author of Blind Veil, a murder mystery joy ride, who resides in Michigan.  Blind Veil was published in softcover by Paper Arplaines Publishing in May of this year.

Let’s hear what the former detective has to say for himself.

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

I’m actually pretty happy sticking with the thriller/fantasy/paranormal/suspense genres that I write in.  It’s funny that you asked this though, as last night a friend mentioned they thought I should try my hand at erotica.  While I’ve read fifty shades of grey, I have no plans to write in this genre.  I’ll leave that to authors who are experts in that arena.  They do it best, I’m sure.

Where do your ideas come from?  Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

My stories come to me pretty much fully formed.   It’s a gift that I thoroughly enjoy.  I’ve written in a few different genres as mentioned above, but my stories have commonalities such as: good vs evil, excitement and suspense, and I usually have a bit of romance somewhere along the way, but nothing too heavy.

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it?  Does that trigger the story?

Several title options usually come to me after I get the plot.  I run them by others to get outside opinions before selecting the one I use.

Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright?  If so, which authors are driving it?

I think fantasy and science fiction readers will always be a large part of reader groups.  Who doesn’t like to escape into a different world from time to time?  I think Indie authors who write well are driving much of what we will see from now on.  Of course there are always great books from traditional publishing houses as well, but the Indie side of this industry continues to grow at a rapid pace.

What themes are being overused?

Hmmm.  I think authors are limited to basic plots, however what we do with them makes each book unique in its own.  For example, if you were to give a handful of authors an idea for a plot, you’d have five entirely different stories when they were all finished.  That’s the beauty of artists.  We create from within.  Since no two people are the same, no two books will be the same.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

If anything I think movies actually help promote books.  I will go see a film with the intention of finding  the differences between the book and film versions.  Book sales historically have increased for those once the film versions are released, so I’d have to say no, I don’t see that as a problematic issue.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

No, but the industry is constantly changing and I believe it will continue to evolve.  Contrary to what some folks say, I believe that paper books will always be around… at least for a good long while and for a number of reasons.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

Lately I’ve read many Indie books (I am a great supporter of Indies), and have been pleasantly surprised and even floored by some of them-shocked that they had been rejected by traditional publishing companies.  Still, Traditional publishing companies typically lose money on 90% of the manuscripts they pick up, so I can certainly understand them being picky about who they publish.  I’m glad to see the eBook industry is helping Indies to get their work out there.  It’s great to see.  Still, the Dark Towers series is on my list of books to read.

What is it about fantasy that appeals to you?

Escape.  Reading is like taking a vacation.

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

LOL, once I have the copies, absolutely.

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?

I have Beta readers, family and of course my editor.  I take everything that’s said into consideration, but inevitably the finished story is mine.  It can be difficult for authors to take the criticism, but it’s so important to accept others words graciously.  Simple changes throughout the book can improve it tremendously.  Authors live with the book in our heads.  We see and know all about the environment, the characters, and everything in between as if we’re watching a movie(at least I do).  It’s most import for me that I can relay correctly, everything that I can, so my readers don’t miss a thing.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

No.

Do you have a target each day?

No.

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

I write on different books all throughout my weeks.  I usually have about three going at once.  Whichever character is screaming loudest that day gets written, unless I have a deadline I’m working, then of course that’s priority.

Do you have characters running around your head?  Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

Yes, my characters constantly harass me, coerce me, and crack me up.  I have one novel in particular that I’m working on that involves a nineteen year old cocky kid.  He’s a trip.  I didn’t plan him that way, but he took over and so I went with it.  His attitude has added so much to the plot.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

I’m actually pretty organized considering how much I have going on.  I try to make each minute count.  I think any amount of time a person spends not doing something they’re enjoying, or even if they just can’t find the simple joy in a task, it’s a waste of precious time.

Do you read other people’s writing?

Yes.

Would you read mine?

Sure would.

Where can readers stalk you?

Amazon     http://www.amazon.com/Blind-Veil-ebook/dp/B0062AGWK4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1336754464&sr=8-1

Barnes and Nobles     http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/blind-veil?keyword=blind+veil&store=allproducts

Amazon UK      http://www.amazon.co.uk/Blind-Veil-ebook/dp/B0062AGWK4/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1334333452&sr=1-1

Smashwords   http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/101069

Blind Veil Trailer   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hu3slW0sRxs

Blind Veil Reviews    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4aFNGGqhhws

Michael Lorde’s Website     http://paperairplanespublis.wix.com/michael-lorde

Michael Lorde’s Blog    http://michaelordeauthor.blogspot.com/

Michael Lorde’s Facebook   http://www.facebook.com/AuthorMichaelLorde

Michael Lorde’s twitter  @MichaelLorde

