I discovered Marianne de Pierres in 2004 when I started reading her Parrish Plessis trilogy.  It was fascinating to find an Australian female science fiction author at the time.  There’s a lot of fun to be found in Marianne’s work, and it is all worth the read.

If you can not get enough of Marianne’s sci fi, then you may want to look for her humourous crime series under the name of Marianne Delacourt.

When talking to her for this interview, I have found her to be as much fun and as alive and thought provoking as her writing.  Without further words from me, let’s get to the interview.

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

I’d love to write a straight up serious crime thriller rather as well as light comic crime, and some TV screenplays, and a spy novel, and a kids action series and … you get the idea? Who knows? Maybe I will.

Where do your ideas come from?  Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

Definitely not. I snag ideas from the great conveyor belt of life. It keeps grinding along past me and I just siphon little bits off.

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it?  Does that trigger the story?

Not always, in fact, not often, now I think about. Title usually comes later. I tend to start with characters and places.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

Not at all. They are a different animal and tell different kinds of stories. We should be able to enjoy both and the discussions they provoke.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

E-books are changing the face of traditional publishing for sure. It’s hard to predict exactly where it will end, but I’m still one who believes that the good old paperback and the collector’s hardcovers will be around for a while yet.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

As long as they engage me, I’ll read anyone.

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

Of course.

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?

I have a writers’ group who has been very integral in helping me become a better writer. In recent years, though, my novels tend to go straight to my editors’ because of time constraints. And of course, any good critical feedback can significantly improve my work.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

Yeah, I have an approximate target for each novel, often driven by industry standards.

Do you have a target each day?

500-1500 wds. Usually end up somewhere in the middle.

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

Depends again on deadlines. Don’t think I’ve had a Xmas break in about seven years though.

After so many books, how do you keep them unique?

It’s important to keep challenging yourself with each novel, I think. If it comes too easily, then you’re not trying hard enough.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

THE. DREADED. INTERNET.

And now here’s Marianne’s contact details;

Twitter:  @mdepierres

Website:  http://www.mariannedepierres.com/

 

