Title: Automatic Woman
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Pub Date: August 06, 2012
ISBN: 9781620070765
Author: Nathan L. Yocum
Category: FICTION – ADULT: Action & Adventure

Marketing Copy:

There are no simple cases. Jacob “Jolly” Fellows knows this.

The London of 1888, the London of steam engines, Victorian intrigue, and horseless carriages is not a safe place nor simple place…but it’s his place. Jolly is a thief catcher, a door-crashing thug for the prestigious Bow Street Firm, assigned to track down a life sized automatic ballerina. But when theft turns to murder and murder turns to conspiracy, can Jolly keep his head above water? Can a thief catcher catch a killer?

Automatic Woman is the second novel from award winning screenwriter Nathan L. Yocum. A volatile mix of steampunk, noir, historical fiction, and two-fisted action, Automatic Woman takes us to a place that never was yet we all know so well… the London of Jules Verne, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Jack the Ripper and Bram Stoker with a pneumatic twist.

My Review:

This is one great book. The language and style of it just sucked me and before I knew it, I’d read a large chunk of it in one sitting. It is strange, wierd but a hell of a lot of fun.

Jolly is a gret character and you just want him to get through as the tension builds to a great conclusion that leaves just enough dangling to hint at a follow up. I already want to read that sequel. But that is all I am going to say about the plot. You should sit down and read it to really get a feel for it. Dark, complex but it flows in a way I did not expect.

Nathan Yocum, you have written a humdinger. I don’t think I’ve read a book this fast for a long time.  How long before we see the next one?  I’m glad I found this one!

My Rating:

5 gears out of 5 (I was only going to give this 4, but then I thought it deserved better.)

