Title: Thief of Thieves Volume 1
Publisher: Image Comics
Pub Date: September 18, 2012
ISBN: 9781607065920
Author: Robert Kirkman
Category: FICTION – ADULT: Humorous, Comics & Graphic Novels: Comics & Graphic Novels

Marketing Copy:

Conrad Paulson lives a secret double-life as master thief Redmond. There is nothing he can’t steal, nothing he can’t have… except for the life he left behind. Now with a grown son he hardly knows, and an ex-wife he never stopped loving, Conrad must try to piece together what’s left of his life, before the FBI finally catch up to him… but it appears they are the least of his worries.

Collects Thief of Thieves #1-7.

My Review:

Robert Kirkman has an incredible reputation, being the creator of The Walking Dead, so when I saw this come up at NetGalley.com I found myself jumping on it.  I had recently purchased Walking Dead Trades, skipping through volumes one and two in quick sucession as I realised how much I had to catch up with.  Here though I had the opportunity to start a Kirkman series from the start.

And what a trip it is.   This has everything.  A heist that goes wrong, women, language, a lost son, and even a cruise ship.  Kirkman does very well here by not introducing any of the angles from the Dead series, and creates new characters that are full of life.  The further I went into this collection, the more I felt I learnt about the characters.

The story is captivating, the style is great and this book skipped along at a fantastic pace.  Another one that is well worth the read., especially if you already like Kirkman’s stories.  Do not be disappointed there are no zombies, and enjoy it for what it is.  A newset of characters and a new series that stands out in its own right.

My Rating:

5 pearls out of 5

