Title: Kevin Smith’s The Bionic Man Volume 1: Some Assembly Required
Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment
Pub Date: July 31, 2012
ISBN: 9781606903438
Author: Kevin Smith
Category: FICTION – ADULT: Action & Adventure

Marketing Copy:

We Can Rebuild Him!

Steve Austin is back and acclaimed filmmaker Kevin Smith unleashes his high-octane vision in this new series from Dynamite.

Smith unleashes The Bionic Man into the 21st century as only he can, with an innovative take on this classic character that will show you The Bionic Man with a whole new set of powers and abilities – not to mention enemies!

Kevin Smith is joined by Phil Hester, artist Jonathan Lau, and cover artist/character designer Alex Ross (the team that brought you the new Green Hornet series).

This tradepaperback collects the entire critically acclaimed 10-issue series, along with a complete cover gallery.

My Review:

I loved this. I remember watching the Bionic Man as a kid and always enjoyed it, so I wondered what Kevin Smith might do to it, but I am happy to report that he keeps the feel of the original series and adds some great new elements to it.

Through the first issue, I did not think much of it, but then you get towards the end of the first book, you will be well and truly absorbed in it. I sat down and read the rest of it in a single series. The rest bit was when Kevin used the original words from the introduction of the television show within the book and mentioned the noise (nuh nuh nuh nuh). I had a quiet chuckle to myself for that.

This is a great collection of the first 10 issues and I will be looking forward to the next ten. The Bionic Man has been rebuild for the 21st century. Get into it.

My Rating:

5 bionic men out of 5

