Title: Shadowy Horses
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Imprint: Sourcebooks Landmark
Pub Date: October 01, 2012
ISBN: 9781402258701
Author: Kearsley, Susanna
Category: FICTION – ADULT: Horror & Ghost: Ghost

THE INVINCIBLE NINTH ROMAN LEGION MARCHES FROM YORK TO FIGHT THE NORTHERN TRIBES. AND THEN VANISHES FROM THE PAGES OF HISTORY.

Archaeologist Verity Grey has been drawn to the dark legends of the Scottish Borderlands in search of the truth buried in a rocky field by the sea.

Her eccentric boss has spent his whole life searching for the resting place of the lost Ninth Roman Legion and is convinced he’s finally found it—not because of any scientific evidence, but because a local boy has “seen” a Roman soldier walking in the fields, a ghostly sentinel who guards the bodies of his long-dead comrades.

Here on the windswept shores, Verity may find the answer to one of the great unsolved mysteries of our time. Or she may uncover secrets someone buried for a reason.

(borrowed from GoodReads)

My Review:

After completing my review for Ben Aaronovitch’s Whispers Under Ground, I though it appropriate that I do this one next. This was another book that grabbed my attention quickly and would not let go.

When I selected this from NetGalley (where I get most of my review galleys from), it was based on the cover and that it was a ghost story. There is no marketing copy for this but I will find some to give you an idea of what it is about. It is only later that I find it is tagged as a romance paranormal type of thing. The other thing I found was this was published 15 years ago!

But I was hooked as soon as I met Verity and her travels to Rosehill, and old home of an eccentric old man who claims to have found a famous Roman legion. But before I give away anything, I will cut it off there (and my poor brain just wants to keep blathering about the book).

The characters are well rounded, from the mad Quinnell to Verity herself, as the ‘looking for adventure’ girl. For me the romance angles slowed it down, but could be easily overlooked as the story builds slowly to a satisfying ending.

My Rating:

4 shadows out of 5

