What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

A: I would like to write a Sci-Fy.

  • · Where do your ideas come from? Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

A: As far as I am concerned, it is divine intervention. But sometimes it’s something simple, a strange tree with a twisted trunk, or an odd looking island. Blood Tithe came to me from the actual tunnels I got to explore in Maine.

  • · When you start a new story, do you have a title for it? Does that trigger the story?

A: Usually I always have a title, but sometimes it changes halfway through the book. It doesn’t trigger the story for me.

  • · Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright? If so, which authors are driving it?

A: I see it as being very bright. Harry Potter and Twilight have only helped it. So I feel both authors are helping it.

  • · What themes are being overused?

A: I’m seeing a lot of Vampire and Werewolf books out there.

  • · Are movies of books ruining the book?

A: If anyone wants to make a movie out of my book, feel free to call. Movie people and book people are different types and we all know that usually the book is better.

  • · Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

A: Yes, I think it’s catching on.

  • · Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

A: Now that I have an ebook out, I read both. I choose by reading the synopsis on it. It has to catch my eye.

  • · What is it about fantasy that appeals to you?

A: I want to be taken to another world rich with imagination.

  • · Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

A: Absolutely!!

  • · Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?

A: I bounce story ideas off a few family members. They usually have the deer in the headlights look, so they have little impact. 🙂

  • · Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

A: I usually shoot for at least 100,000 words.

  • · Do you have a target each day?

A: 2k words a day is a target, but it’s tough with work and kids.

  • · Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

A: I write everyday, even if it’s only a couple paragraphs.

  • · Do you have characters running around your head? Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

A: Maybe I’m crazy, but some of my characters are with me, they even have twitter accounts. lol

  • · After so many books, how do you keep them unique?

A: Again, divine intervention. I’m on my third series, all completely different.

  • · What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

A: Goofing off on the internet.

  • · Do you remember the first time you saw your book in a shop?

A: Still hasn’t happened, but I love it when people I don’t know give me great reviews.

  • · Do you read other people’s writing?

A: All the time. I want to see how they developed their plot and characters.

  • · Would you read mine?

A: I’d be happy too!

