Title: The Ghosts of Belfast
Publisher: Soho Press
Imprint: Soho Crime
Pub Date: July 03, 2012
ISBN: 9781616952419
Author: Stuart Neville
Category: FICTION – ADULT: Horror & Ghost: Ghost

Marketing Copy:

The first installment in Stuart Neville’s Los Angeles Times Book Prize and Spinetingler Award-winning Belfast Trilogy is now available again in paperback.

Fegan has been a “hard man,” an IRA killer in northern Ireland. Now that peace has come, he is being haunted day and night by twelve ghosts: a mother and infant, a schoolboy, a butcher, an RUC constable, and seven other of his innocent victims. In order to appease them, he’s going to have to kill the men who gave him orders.

My Review:

This was one gritty book. The IRA and ghosts together makes for one hell of a concept and Stuart Neville pulls it off with flair.

Our main character Fagan is haunted by the people he killed – literally. The twelve ghosts that haunt demand retibution, so to save what is left of his sanity he goes hunting and killing. As he removes a target a ghost disappears.

But to go further would be doing the book a disseverce. There are twists and turns along the way that I will not spoil, but let me say that this was not the book I expected. For that reason, I found myself enjoying a lot more than I thought I would.

My Rating:

4 ghosts out of 5

