Title: The Tower Chronicles
SubTitle: Geisthawk Volume 1
Publisher: Legendary Comics
Pub Date: October 09, 2012
ISBN: 9781937278021
Author: Matt Wagner
Category: FICTION – ADULT: Action & Adventure

Marketing Copy:

He Lives to Kill the Dead!

Written by Matt Wagner, award-winning creator of Grendel and Mage, and developed with Thomas Tull, executive producer of 300 and The Dark Knight, The Tower Chronicles is the tale of John Tower, a supernatural bounty hunter who tracks down the creeping shadows that the modern world has all but forgotten.

His harrowing missions lead him across the globe and into the darkest recesses of mankind’s most dangerous places to banish a wide variety of poltergeists, demons, and other unfathomable evils to free his troubled patrons from their tormentors’ ethereal grasp.

My Review:

I am not a graphic novel follower. I will say that up front. I don’t know the names that should be read or who the great illustrators (or whatever you call them) are. I pick up what I like the look of and read it.

First thing that I found disappointing was the length of the graphic novel. It is only 72 pages long, which dsoes not give us much time to get a know this new super hero. In fact, I found knowledge about John Tower himself too thin. He’s here and he hunts, but that’s about it. There are three small stories in this volume, but I still do not feel that we covered much ground. I suppose that is the advantage of graphic novels.

This is not intended for children in any way with strong language and the occassional suggestive scene. The art work is interesting and I can imagine that some will like it and some will not. I enjoyed the style, as I found it clean and easy to see the action.

I liked it, but have not fallen into it yet, but I will be looking for the next volume to see what matt Wagner takes this.

My Rating:

3 dead out of 5

