Kim Cano is unique.  She donates 10% of her sales to the ASPCA for her book called For Animal Lovers, which contains three stories about animals.  That is quiet a wonderful thing to do.  Her for novel, titled A Widow Defined, is in its second draft and we are all waiting for it.

So, let me introduce Kim Cano.

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

I don’t know. I just write stories as they come and the genre’s vary. My favorite is literary fiction, which is the novel I’m working on now, but my first short story collection is a best seller in children’s. I never would’ve guessed.

Where do your ideas come from? Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

Ideas usually come in some mix match form. Like an idea combines with something I’d seen in a movie, or a cause I’m interested in will mix with something I’ll hear a relative say and it will become a new story.

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it? Does that trigger the story?

Um no. I think of the title after I see the story. I tend to see it in my mind.

Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright? If so, which authors are driving it?

I haven’t read a lot of sci fi myself, but I think anything futuristic mixed with YA seems to be doing well. Basically, if the idea is great, and people connect with it, I think it has a bright future.

What themes are being overused?

I think vampires are overused, but if combined with a new situation and under the right circumstances, I could love them all over again.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

I think movies of books are just visual representations of main points in the books. They can never hit all of them. They do ruin things when they change way too much. They don’t need to change what readers already loved and piss them off.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

I don’t think so. Traditional publishers are selling ebooks and doing well. One of my favorite author’s ebooks  are always high in the kindle store and she’s traditionally published.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

Right now I’m reading all the books in my future novel’s genre that are successful, both established and indie, to see what I like about each of them.

What is it about fantasy that appeals to you?

I like that there are no rules, and that you can escape the real world.

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

Not yet. For Animal Lovers is only on kindle, but the novel will be both. I’m gonna do a print on demand book with CreateSpace.

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?

I have a small group, and I use an editor. I see what he says and if my friends/family have said similar things about portions of the book, I make changes or improve it as best I can.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

I used to look up the word count limits for my genre because I was going to try to get an agent. Now I just write what I want and edit it and move on from there. I don’t feel as controlled.

Do you have a target each day?  

Yeah…I used to when I didn’t work. Now that I work a regular job and write and market the first book and be a wife, I’m just happy to get my two days in per week.

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

I write constantly. I have more ideas than writing time.

Do you have characters running around your head? Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

Absolutely. How’d you know? You got them too, I bet.

After so many books, how do you keep them unique?

I think they are made unique by who’s doing the telling. I could write about the same idea as ten other people and we’d all have a different story.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

Reading celebrity gossip online. It’s moronic, but I can’t seem to stop.

Do you remember the first time you saw your book in a shop?

Yes. My book came out on Amazon a few months ago. The first day I saw it for sale on their site, I felt great. I would love to see my novel in a bookstore, but I don’t think Barnes & Noble carries self-pubbed titles from Amazon.

Do you read other people’s writing?

Yep. I read friends’ books from my author groups when I can find some time.

Would you read mine?

I would love to!

Here’s the link to my only book for sale at this time (my first book): http://tinyurl.com/7rovtfh 

My website is: www.kimcano.com

My twitter is: @KimCano2

My facebook fan page is: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kim-Cano/401511463198088

Another thing I wanted to mention is that I donate 10% of book royalties to the ASPCA to help homeless animals. I will do that with each book I put out.

