Today, I have a guest blogger, being Lindsay Harper.  Lindsay Harper is happily married with two grown-up children, two young grandchildren and three Springer Spaniels.  Her philosophy of life is ‘If it ain’t fun don’t do it.’ When she’s not writing she is a homeopath, a teacher of T’ai Chi and Pilates, a babysitter and a dog walker! Her aim is to create fiction with an esoteric and metaphysical theme. She lives in Wakefield, West Yorkshire. ‘Memory Letters’ is her second novel following the success of ‘A Second Chance.’

I approached Lindsay after seeing a comment she made on LinkedIn about settin up her own publishing house.  This fascinates me, so I asked whether she would be interested in telling us her story.  She readily agreed and quickly got back to me with an article.  It’s a great little read and gives quite a bit of information on what you would need to do to be a publisher.

But first, before launching into that, I will share a little about Harperhouse Publishing.  Harperhouse was originally set up for Lindsay but they have recently opened their doors to accept submissions.  All the details are available from the website.

So here it is – Lindsay Harper on Setting up Harperhouse Publishing.

It was just after I’d finished my first novel and I was looking for companies to publish it for me. I tried Author House and lets put it this way, I didn’t have a very positive experience! My daughter had been reading an article and suggested that we do it ourselves.

My husband’s background was in Graphic Design and he knew his way round most of the computer packages relevant to
publishing. I contacted Neilsen Data and purchased a bundle of isbn numbers. Paul then did some research on how to format a book for printing and I found a friendly printer in the south of England who readily gave me advice.

We then set out to design a front cover. For examples of my covers see www.harperhousepublishing.co.uk.

I practiced writing the blurb (which is an art in itself) and I think became quite proficient. The whole process was so short compared to the time it took other companies because we were in charge of the time frame.

I employed a proof reader and editor and once the book was returned to me, it was all systems go. There were a few hiccoughs on the way but we soon ironed them out and very soon I had my own copy of ‘A Second Chance.’

Then came the hard part. Writing the book was easy compared to the marketing of it! I contacted Neisen data and set up an account with them and negotiated an account with Gardners and Bertrams books so I can sell any books we produce through Waterstones.com and WH Smiths.

Since then I’ve published by following two novels and my non-fiction title, ‘Sell Your House in a Month.’ We decided to
offer our services to the public and will publish well written, saleable titles. We are in the process of converting all my titles to ebook format which is quite time consuming but it is definitely the way forward.

My latest novel, ‘How to Have an Affair’ is with an editor now and this time I’m trying to go down the agent/traditional publisher route as the marketing is the hardest thing to do. But if things don’t work out (but they will -stay optimistic!) I’ll keep on self-publishing.

Thank you Lindsay Harper for this brief run-through.  You have got me thinking about trying it now.

