The Strain Volume 1

David Lapham
Dark Horse Comics
      Dark Horse Books
ISBN9781616550325

Pub Date                Nov 14 2012

Description

When a Boeing 777 lands at JFK International Airport and goes dark on the runway, the Centers for Disease Control, fearing a terrorist attack, calls in Dr. Ephraim Goodweather and his team of expert biological-threat first responders. Only an elderly pawnbroker from Spanish Harlem suspects a darker purpose behind the event—an ancient threat intent on covering mankind in darkness. Collects issues #1-#6 of the ongoing series.

“This is one of the scariest comics on the stands, as genuine surprises await the reader at every turn of the page. Usually, such big reveals are left to the final moment, but with The Strain there’s almost a cliffhanger every few pages and that makes this series a truly surprising, and enjoyable, read.” —Broken Frontier

My Review:

I have read this series from Chuck Hogan and Guillermo Del Toro, and I could always see the movie in this.  In fact, I thought it had been written to be made into a movie.  So when I heard there was a graphic novel coming out, I was somewhat excited by the prospect.  I hate to say this, but this one disappointed me.  When I got the galley, it had this beautiful, if somewhat scary, cover design.  I will show you.

As you can see, lots of style with this and it made me want to open it up.  After a few more beautifully painted pages, the graphic novel starts in a totally different style.  In my opinion, this did not work for the story line.

Many of the characters did not resemble the picture I had in my head of them.  The creatures looked great on the painted pages, but did not work quite as well when in comic style.

The story held true to the book and the action moved very well, so in that aspect it is very good.

I think this is one of those graphic novels that you would want to read before the actual book.  I can see, when done in that order, this would be quite a thrill ride but for me, it was good – but not great.

My Rating:

3 tongues out of 5

