I approached Tony Hubbard after reading and writing a review for his novel ‘A Demon Lies Within’ and have found him very talkative and a genuinely nice guy (so far).

I can let you in on a little secret (though Tony might start hunting me down after this).  Tony is already working on his next book and it’s about a contract killer.  Mmm, after reading ‘Demon’, I cannot imagine what Tony will come up with.  Whatever it is, I bet it will turn the serial killer logic on its head.

I have decided to include a cover shoot of his first book, as it is a visually stunning piece of work.

This is one image that really captured my attention when I saw it on NetGalley.  Without giving too much away, it lets you know you are in for a ride.  And boy, what a ride it is.

If you want to read my review of Tony’s book ‘A Demon Lies Within’, then go here for my take on it – Review: A Demon Lies Within by Tony Hubbard.  But otherwise, have a read of Tony’s interview.

Who would you like to collaborate with (being living or dead) and why?

Edgar Allan Poe. After reading several of his works, The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Black Cat, for the first time, he was the first author I remember taking notice of and wanting to read more of his works. That was back when I was a teenager. I actually reference The Tell-Tale Heart within my novel, A Demon Lies Within.

What would be the best piece of advice you would offer a new author?

Don’t ever give up on the idea that you can write, finish and publish a novel. You will ultimately finish your story. It took me 18 years to finish writing and publish A Demon Lies Within. I came up with the original premise of the novel, of a possessed nine-year-old boy named Joshua, in 1994.

Is routine important to you?

No. I see each day as unique and different, with its’ own set challenges, obstacles and items that need to be confronted. No two days are exactly alike.

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

If I was to move away from the horror genre, I would write something along the lines of a romantic comedy novel. Every romantic comedy movie is the same: Boy and girl meet. Boy and girl spend time together becoming friends, learning about one another and their quirky personalities. Boy and girl start falling in love when suddenly something bad happens to keep them apart. Then they reconnect in some unbelievable way (which never happens in real life) and end the movie together, in love. I could write a story like that.

You acknowledge music within your books.  Do you listen to music during all processes of writing?  Do you listen music you know or new music when writing?

I listen to music all the time when I write. A Demon Lies Within is split into 3 parts. For Part I, I primarily listened to Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds. I put together a playlist of about 66 songs from them and had it on a constant shuffle.

For Part II, I listened to a lot of Dream Theater (particularly Metropolis Part II and Scenes From a Memory) and Rush, bands known for constructing elaborate stories with their music.

Part III was a variety of artists including: Metallica, Van Halen, Coldplay, Smashing Pumpkins and U2.

I try to find new bands to listen to while writing. Dream Theater was a band I discovered for the first time while writing this book. I’m glad I did because I listened to them quite a bit.

Have you read a romance novel?  Do you think you could write one?

I’ve only read a few pages here and there of a romance novel, but I’ve never finished one. I don’t think I could write one because I would be laughing too hard while writing it to finish it.

What sport did you play as a younger person?  Were you good at it?

I played several sports when I was younger, basketball, volleyball, roller hockey, to name a few. I was average at best.

When you are coming up with an idea, do you look at the market for trends?  Or do you write for you?

As I’m the one writing it, I have to write something that I’m interested in, something that I would want to read myself. It would be easy to say that I should write a novel about vampires, werewolves or something that would be geared to the young adult genre as that’s what’s big right now. Not to say that I wouldn’t read, or would be interested in reading novels of that genre, but if I was to write something along those lines I would do it because I had a story about one of those subjects that fascinated me and wanted to share, not because it was popular.

Where do your ideas come from?  Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

For A Demon Lies Within, the ideas came from a variety of places. Dreams played a large role in the writing of this book. Several scenes within the book were the result of dreams that I had while writing the book, or even before the book was written. The fact that the book was written at all was the result of a dream I had. As unexciting as this will sound, the ending of the book came while I was folding laundry. I’ve come up with entire scenes while driving in my car or while in the shower. I have a journal that I keep with me to capture these ideas.  The ideas can come from anywhere at any time. The only formula I use is to try and construct a beginning, middle and end to a story and let the rest fill itself in while I’m writing.

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it?  Does that trigger the story?

The title for A Demon Lies Within came well after the book was finished. I need to write the story first to trigger the title, rather than vice versa.

Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright?  If so, which authors are driving it?

I do, because I think it’s a genre that has an extremely loyal following. It’s a genre that I’m not familiar with. As such, I wouldn’t be able to properly speak to the authors who are excelling within that style.

What themes are being overused?

I don’t believe that they are overused, per se. I think there’s an ebb and flow to them. There are themes that will have mass appeal for awhile and stay prominent in our consciousness for a period of time before fading somewhat to the background.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

I don’t think so because I believe the two need to be viewed as separate entities. It’s a challenge to condense several hundred pages of a book into 90-120 minutes of film time. You can’t possibly include everything from a book in a movie unless you want to have a 3 hour movie. Plus, having a movie derive from a book exposes the book to a much wider audience. Anything that can bring additional exposure to a book is a plus.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

I believe there will always be a place for printed books. Reading a book on an ereader doesn’t replicate the reading experience of physically holding a book in your hands while you read it. I always enjoy the experience of turning ahead several pages to see how many pages are left in the chapter I’m reading, deciding if I’m going to finish the chapter or put the book down for the night.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

I prefer to read really good stories, no matter who the author is. It doesn’t matter to me whether it’s a writers’ first novel or tenth novel, if it’s a good story I’ll read it. You can’t rule out a book because it’s a debut novel, as every author at one time had a debut novel.

What is it about fantasy that appeals to you?

To be able to get lost beyond this world, to transport yourself into another time, place or world is very therapeutic.

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

Absolutely! I would be happy to send you an autographed copy.

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?

I am fortunate to have a group of people to rely on for feedback.  I give a lot of weight to the constructive feedback they offer. That’s what I’m looking for and that’s why I gave them the story to read in the first place, to offer suggestions, criticisms, or revisions to the plot. I don’t want people to automatically feel like they have to say, “It was good. I liked it” and that’s all the feedback they offer when I’ve given them something to read. That’s not what I’m looking for.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

I do not. For A Demon Lies Within I pretty much included every single thought, idea, note, piece of dialogue that I had come up with in the first draft. I didn’t want to put any restraints on it. Once all the pieces were in there I started to edit down the manuscript, removing the parts that I felt ultimately didn’t work.

Do you have a target each day?

I tried that and it was short lived. It probably goes back to my ‘each day is different’ motto. For me, there are some days that writing comes easy and I can crank out a couple of thousand words. Then there are days where I stare at a blank screen for two hours without writing a single word.

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

Right now with A Demon Lies Within scheduled to come out on November 13 much of my focus and energy has been around the pre-release promotion of the book, which has kept me fairly busy. I would say that right now I’m on a break between books. I have an idea in mind for a second novel, but I haven’t had the time to start writing it yet. I have had numerous ideas about the novel flying around in my head that I’m compiling and will be able to draw upon when I am ready to sit down and start the second novel.

Do you have characters running around your head?  Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

There are lots of characters running around in my head. And yes they do dictate events and histories as in my mind I see the characters in a certain way and I want those events/histories to match up with the personalities that I have in mind.

After so many books, how do you keep them unique?

I haven’t had to face this challenge yet as this is my debut novel, but I can tell that it’s going to be a definite challenge going forward. I do feel though that the personalities of the characters that you’re writing helps to keep each story unique.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

The internet – as a whole. It’s too easy to open a browser window and start visiting your favorite websites to read about what is happening that day. Before you know it an hour, or more, has gone by and all you haven’t written anything.

Do you remember the first time you saw your book in a shop?

That’s something that I haven’t experienced yet, but I can’t wait for it to happen. I’ll probably act like a teenage girl at a boy band concert, all giddy and excited, taking lots of pictures. It’ll be very exciting when that happens, overwhelming, actually. To think about all the hours and effort that went into producing the book that’s on a bookstore shelf staring back at you, that others within the store have the opportunity to see, notice and purchase is pretty incredible.

Do you read other people’s writing?

I do, for personal enjoyment.

Would you read mine?

Absolutely!

Tony is on Twitter: @TonyHub

