Clockwork Angels – The Novel

Author: Kevin J. Anderson and Neil Peart

Publisher: ECW Press

Pub Date: Sep 1 2012

Marketing Copy:

The ultimate adventure for fans of Rush and the internationally bestselling author Kevin J. Anderson

Imagine if someone had written the novel of The Wall, Tommy, or Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band when those classic albums were released. For fans of the multi-platinum band Rush, Clockwork Angels: The Novel is that project. In collaboration with the legendary rock band, acclaimed novelist Kevin J. Anderson turns the sonic journey of Rush’s new album into a full-length literary adventure.

In a young man’s quest to follow his dreams, he is caught between the grandiose forces of order and chaos. He travels through a lavish and colourful world of steampunk and alchemy, with lost cities, pirates, anarchists, exotic carnivals, and a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life.

My Review:

I have been reading Kevin Anderon for many years now, and will always line up for one of his books. So when I heard he was collaborating with some band called Rush, I found myself interested in the result. Okay, before you all yell at me for the throw-away remark about Rush, let me explain.

The Canadian band Rush have not made much impact out here in Australia. I must admit that I did look them up after Kevin mentioned them to me, and now I must say I am a proud owner of some of their albums with Clockwork Angels being one of them. Sometimes Australia is just too far away.

And now on to the book.

This is a charming little tale of Owen, who is just about to discover the world that he lives in. Everything in his cul-de-sac is controlled by the Watchmaker. Even down to when the rain will fall. But Owen feels the need to travel and explore.

It is beautifully written, but without the usual depth and sublety that you normally find in Kevin’s writing. I would almost describe it a modern fairy tale.

The influence of Neil Peart is strong throughout the book with references to lyrics from the Rush album of the same name. They blend very well together, creating a harmonious duo. Also, the illustrations throughout and the cover just add another layer to the whole concept.

As an experiment, I found this to be highly successful.

Don’t forget to check out my interview with Kevin J. Anderson, American Science Fiction Author

My Rating:
4 clocks out of 5

