I met Linze Brandon on Facebook and found her lovely to talk to.  She has offered me lots of advice in social media as I strarted my blitz for my book.  I am now happy to announce that Linze has a new book out called Gera’s Gift.  Here’s an excerpt from it.

T’ara frowned.
Uneasy, he elected to increase the size of his barrier. She fired a high-powered redfire-strike at him, knocking him over. Calling on the skills of the ancient martial arts he had studied, he rolled over, dived to one side, and flipped on to his feet all in one continuous movement. Since Lord Aidan said there would not be any interruptions, he had to be ready in case she struck at him while he was down. She didn’t.
Electing to use high-powered strikes was a risky choice, but it would guarantee that he reciprocated in equal measure. Knowing how adaptable he could be when faced with an unusual battle strategy, she had to rely on his skills to end this quickly.
He moved silently to his right. She looked distracted, but he knew it might be another tactic, so he watched her carefully. The next moment, he was struck from behind with a shock wave that sent him sliding and rolling on the ground. He grimaced as he tried to control his fall. She used the previous attack to distract him, then hid behind an invisibility barrier so she could strike at him from behind. Before he even came to a standstill, he retaliated with a redfire-strike and two fire-balls. By the time he had his body under control and ready again to defend himself, the arena had gone deathly quiet. He only heard his own breathing.
He spun around and saw T’ara lying on her back, not moving. Lord Aidan reached her a moment before he did. He fell to his knees beside her.
‘Oh no.’

Linze hails from Pretoria, South Africa and is just about to embark in NanoWrimo.  Don’t know what that is?  Look her up and ask her!

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

My passion is fantasy romance novels. I have recently published my first – Géra’s Gift – and am presently working on finishing the final editing of Keeper of the Dragon Sword. I have written SF and erotic SF short stories, but would like to do a full novel in the SF genre.

Where do your ideas come from?  Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

Nothing standard. The plot sometimes just pop into my head. Always have a notebook with me. Handbag, office bag, travel bag – I don’t go anywhere without a pen and a notebook.

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it?  Does that trigger the story?

The title sometimes jump at me, and other times I have to work really hard to figure out what it should be. Not yet had a title trigger a plot, but it wouldn’t surprise me, if one should pop into my head right now. Now? Not yet.

Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright?  If so, which authors are driving it?

I read mostly paranormal romance, and love all the authors that started the revolution a few years back. SF is for a more selective pallet. I would like serious SF authors to not write over people’s heads with the scientific stuff, and then perhaps more people will enjoy reading it. I am an engineer, but I read for pleasure, not to solve the energy crisis each time I open a book 😉

What themes are being overused?

SF still has a lot to explore. My personal pleasure is genetic engineering when I write SF. Fantasy has done quite a bit, but I don’t think it has reached its end yet.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

For me, yes. If I have read the book, I don’t watch the film.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

This is a difficult one. I love my Kindle, but nothing beats the feel of paper when I lie in the bathtub relaxing after a hectic day. So I am hoping the printed word won’t disappear in my lifetime.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

Both. If I like a writer’s work, I read all their books. When I spot a new author, I will take a chance.

What is it about fantasy that appeals to you?

The imaginary worlds. Real life can be a challenge in South Africa, and work can often be stressful. I love being transported away for a few hours to a world where solutions to problems present themselves in the pages of a book, especially the kind that comes with happy endings 🙂

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

Want my Paypal account details? 😉

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?

That depends on the genre I write. I belong to a group on writers with whom I did my creative writing course last year. Since we have all learned the correct ways to plot, write and edit, their feedback is the most valuable. Not everyone wants to read SF, or erotica, so I usually ask, and those who want then provide feedback.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

No, I wish I did. Keeper of the Dragon Sword started off over 200k words! Right now I have it down to about 135k, and feel that it should end up around 120k or thereabouts. My stories write themselves, and my characters don’t keep to the rules, much as I want them to. I do get my revenge in the editing though!

Do you have a target each day?

No. I have monthly targets. My work schedule can be unpredictable, and if I cannot make a daily target I tend to get frustrated. Monthly targets are more achievable – most of the time!

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

I write constantly. I have already written 37 novels, of which 1 is published, the 2nd is due this year. The next 3 are done, and only need final editing before publishing. The rest are in various stages of completion of the first draft. I also love NaNoWriMo – last year, my first, I managed 60k words in November. Can’t wait for this year.

Do you have characters running around your head?  Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

Yes, all the time. Can’t write fast enough to get rid of all of them.

After so many books, how do you keep them unique?

Its not difficult at all. My series of which Géra’s Gift is the first, is made up of 5 sub-series. The Grandmasters, Dragon Masters, Future Masters, Strike Masters and the Lords of the High Council. The books each stand on their own, but there is a continuity through all of them. The one story seem to bring on new ideas for another.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

Reading. I love to read. I have a huge collection of books at home. At one time my husband and I had a fight about shelf space – there was nothing left for his books! Eventually I relented, and sold some of my books, and he put up some extra shelves. Now he lives happily in my library (lol)!

Do you remember the first time you saw your book in a shop?

It is thrill that I cannot describe. My husband just shook his head when he saw my grin. I think the glow lasted a week, at least!

Do you read other people’s writing?

I do when asked, if they want an opinion. Unfortunately, I do not have much time, so I am reluctant to take on a project if I cannot give feedback in a reasonably short time. I am reviewing a novel on blog tour right now. A memoir, not my usual genre at all, but I am sure that with no expectations, the book will probably surprise me in a good way. I might even learn something!

Would you read mine?

If you asked, and I have time.

Linze’s main contact point is her blog:    www.linzebrandon.blogspot.com.  There is a lot of info there, with links.

