The birthday celebrations continue today, but this one is a birthday present for a new writing friend, Karly Lane.  I met Karly through Facebook when she commented on not getting flowers for her uncoming birthday.  I offered her an Author Interview as my present to her and she gleefully accepted.

So Haappy Birthday to You, Happy Birthday to You, Happy Birthday dear Karly, Happy Birthday to YOOOOOUUUUUU.

My other present to Karly was my book, which I send need to send to her!  So here’s a new friend Karly Lane.

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

I dabbled in romantic fantasy under my Karlene Blakemore-Mowle name with my American publisher but I would really love to do this a bit more one day.

Where do your ideas come from?  Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

Ideas usually come to me as a question…what would happen if, kind of thing, although an upcoming book due out next year started as a clipping from a newspaper published back in 1920. I usually have nothing other than the original question/concept then have to work out who my characters are, what their back story is..what the plot will be…

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it?  Does that trigger the story?

I don’t do titles- the few I have had were all changed by the publisher anyway! I usually just use a characters name to save the file and work out a title later.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

I don’t think so. I think there’s room for both. I love reading a book and then watching the movie- I’m not too precious about it, I think if you’re an author it would be a huge bonus to reach people who don’t enjoy reading, through a movie. By the time the movie comes out it’s usually vastly different from the original book- so it’s sort of like watching a whole new version of a story.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

I used to be very concerned, then I got an ebook reader for my birthday last year…I love it. I will always buy print books- but because I publish overseas as well, most of my titles are not carried in traditional book stores in paper back version- so ebooks are the only economical way to reach readers. Also I have discovered so many amazing authors and books via ebooks that I would never have read as these books are just not available in stores or in Australia!

I often buy the print version of an ebook I love, so I support both concepts.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

I read both. I am drawn by a book blurb. If it grabs me- I buy it. I don’t care whether they’re established authors or newbies. If the story grabs me- I’ll support that author!

What is it about fantasy that appeals to you?

I do enjoy a bit of fantasy and have written one book in this genre-which was a bit ‘out there’ for me! I love that you can create worlds and places and put characters in situations that other genres are more restrictive about. Also the emotions that can be used are vastly different. Having a warrior pledge his undying love, who would be willing to follow you through time- or would fight to the death for you, is not something you can put into a contemporary romance as easily as you can in a fantasy novel. To have such a powerful emotion in a contemporary novel would make the hero seem rather controlling and somewhat unstable! But have him as a warrior or a werewolf or a time travelling knight…and the emotion is completely believable!  

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

Sure! if you send me a self addressed post pack! (no one told me how much money or time I would be spending in my local post office once I became published!!) 

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?

Not really. I have a good friend I brain storm with when I get stuck in places- which is a great help, but I usually just send the finished MS to my editor and she will let me know if there are any parts of the manuscript that need work.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

Not really. The Romantic suspense genre I write for under Karlene Blakemore-Mowle is usually between 50- 65K and main stream fiction I write under Karly Lane is between 80- 120ishK I tend to stick to those perimeters

Do you have a target each day?

Not really. As long as I write or edit something each day I’m happy.

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

I usually have about 3-4 books on the go at once, so there’s no break as such, I just go from one story to another.

Do you have characters running around your head?  Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

All the time! 

After so many books, how do you keep them unique?

I think the characters are the key. Like everyday people- no two characters can ever be the same. If you have unique characters in each story, you’ll end up with a unique story line. 

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

Face Book…without a doubt!!! But I love it so much! And I still maintain it’s vital especially for a writer. Not only do I have help at the strike of a key,  for anything from a second opinion or when you’re having one of those dumb days where you can’t think of ‘that’ word you need…a simple call out and fellow Face Bookers will come running to your assistance. Not to mention I just love the fact I can chat to my friends and readers and other authors on a daily basis.

Do you remember the first time you saw your book in a shop?

Are you serious? I can’t remember what I was doing yesterday! 

Do you read other people’s writing?

Not really- I’m flat out trying to work out how I do it! Not to mention I am by no means an expert at all, so any advice I had would be pretty darn useless!

Would you read mine?

I think you’re doing quite alright on your own! You don’t need me to mess that up!

My web pages are http://karlenebm.blogspot.com.au/ and  http://karlylane.com . My latest release is Morgan’s Law published with Allen& Unwin.

