Steve Wolff is an expert on paranormal activity especially ghosts. His book Got Ghosts? is a scary read into real life events of hauntings.

If you like a good scare then definitely check this one out as it is all actual events. If you want to know a man who chases things that go bump in the night then read on.

Hopefully I will get the opportunity to interview a second time and ask the real scary questions.

What would be the best piece of advice you would offer a new author?

Just write. Get it down on paper and don’t worry about what other people think. Write for yourself, what makes you happy and if possible, try to keep your grammar & spelling in check to save you time later. Don’t worry about editing, someone else can do that… just get the story out of your head and into words.


Is routine important to you?

No – I’m A.D.D. and I’m all over the place. Instead of treat it like a disease, I embrace it because I’m never bored ~ i’m always doing or distracted by something. Routine kills me because its boring. Yes it helps if your A.D.D. because it helps you focus and do what you have to do but I don’t like it. 🙂

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

Erotica – I think it would be interesting to write about but I have no clue where to even start. LOL. “There she was… standing in the doorway like a TSA agent waiting for you to walk through the metal detector” 😛 ~

You acknowledge music within your books. Do you listen to music during all processes of writing? Do you listen music you know or new music when writing?

I love Spotify because it allows me to play a wide variety of songs that I saved (Starred) and I can listen to them on demand or randomly. Sometimes music helps with writing as long as its ambient background noise but sometimes it’s inspirational like Requiem for a Tower helps put me in sharp dramatic focus. (It’s the music used often in movie trailers, etc.)

Have you read a romance novel? Do you think you could write one?

No I haven’t. I think if I was ever to write a romance novel I might be able to do well with it because I would write it on my personal experiences and what worked as far as being romantic. I believe that women read romance novels because they imagine and want themselves to be swept off their feet like the characters in the book do. I think Nicholas Sparks The Notebook is a good example of that. People want to fall in a deep and satisfying love and be reminded why they are loved not just in words but in gestures.

What sport did you play as a younger person? Were you good at it?

I sucked at sports. I was always the one the kids threw the dodge ball at. It was pathetic. LOL I did love Archery and was good at that but not as a sport, just for fun.

When you are coming up with an idea, do you look at the market for trends? Or do you write for you?

I don’t look at market trends because they change constantly. I write for myself and what I would like to read (or see on the big screen).

Where do your ideas come from? Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

I have a very active imagination and ideas come very easily to me. Usually when I’m writing, I’ll create the world first and then put the characters in them so I have a reference point of what they see & what’s going on around them.

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it? Does that trigger the story?

Sometimes I do have a title but I play mostly with concepts and when I write them down, sometimes a better title shows itself.

Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright? If so, which authors are driving it?

I think the future of fantasy is bright as long as whomever is writing is offering fresh, original ideas. I think that’s the problem we have today is that so much stuff that is put out is recycled (been there, done that) kinda stuff. With fantasy and science fiction it can expand on ideas yet to be explored. A perfect example is the 1960’s Star Trek… way ahead of its time. Gene Roddenberry had such an imagination and was able to see beyond the everyday westerns that were shown on TV. We need more people who can think and write outside the box to boldly take us where no man has gone before. (Can’t believe I just said that) LOL.

What themes are being overused?

Definitely Vampire. I’ve got a book that I’m about to publish soon called The Journey of Anica Storm that has Elementals – (Fire, Water, Wind, Earth, etc.), Fairies (life size), Were-Dragons, Were-Cobras, Were-Rhinos (plenty of Were’s), Spider riders, You name it. There is a town in my book called Shadows Crossing that is nothing but a Vampire town but for now it’s just in mention. In my book – Vampires can turn into bats, mist, and they don’t sparkle. 🙂

Are movies of books ruining the book?

I think movie adaptations of books usually never do as well. Anything that brings attention to an author’s book (I think) is a good thing but I don’t think the movies will ever be better than a book because books are personal. The characters we read about exist in our head vs in movies – they exist from someone elses mind. No worries here.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

Yes and I LOVE IT! (*Insert maniacal laugh) The Big 6 publishers have had a death grip on what gets published and what doesn’t based on what THEY think will sale, not on the content or quality of the book. For too long they have sequestered good books and authors by denying them the light of day. Ebooks have liberated us authors to do what we do best… tell a story. Readers Read, Writers Write… we need each other. Now, keeping this in perspective, I love that you can still get your book printed on demand, thus saving shelf space and cost. For grins and giggles I bought my ebook got ghosts? Real Stories of Paranormal Activity to see what it would look like in print. I must say I was blown away at how great it turned out. So for those who love print – have no fear – there are places that will print your book for you. As far as Ebooks – it’s just the next step in the evolution of books.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors?

I love debut authors because there are some of them who provide a fresh new perspective on writing and storytelling which is nice to discover.

What is it about fantasy that appeals to you?

That there are no limits to where you can go with your story telling. You are automatically given a certain “freedom” in which the reader will allow you to bend reality & the truth so your story can move forward. Example: Portal Gun. Shoot a hole in the wall and you can cross over to another realm. Real life – the reader would be Yeah Right. *Slams book.*

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

Sure – look on Ebay – many authors have autographed books for sale. Ohhhh you mean from me? Sure, after I get my check for this blog.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

I would like to keep it under 100 thousand words if possible.

Do you have a target each day?

No, although I should. I write when I feel like writing and that’s not how you should do it. You should make the time and write, whenever, wherever.

Do you have characters running around your head? Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

The Journey of Anica Storm – I have a few characters who constantly pop up in my imagination because I try and think “What would they do if they were in this situation.” One of my villains – a crazy guy named Asylum (who makes the Joker look like a joke) is a mad twist of funny, sick, genius, and coolness mixed in one.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

Facebook. LOL

Do you read other people’s writing?

I like Ann Rice and Lynn Rush – two authors who know how to hold a reader’s attention. 🙂

Would you read mine?

Already did… when’s the next one? 🙂

Want To Get In Contact With The Author?

To Buy His Book: Got Ghosts? Real Stories of Paranormal Activity: http://tinyurl.com/9h8gdtp

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorstevenwolff

Twitter: @Steven_Wolff

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/stevenwolff

Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/author/stevenwolff

Blog: http://followmeonmyjourneytosuccess.blogspot.com

The Ghost Education & Research Center: http://www.gercsa.com

