David Perlmutter is a bit different for me, being that he is a non-fiction author.  His first book is based on a true story – his own.  It describes what happens to people when they make a mistake and shit really hits the fan.  David was a young man who went on a little holiday to Spain.  This is where he made his little mistake and from that moment on his life went down the toilet.

Fortunately, David made it back and actually wrote about the experience.  The book has incredibly well received, which has inspired David to keep writing.

I am lucky enough to have David agree to an interview, which is below.

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?

Well my first book is Non Fiction, a true story called, Wrong Place Wrong Time. I have just started to write a Fiction book.

Where do your ideas come from? 

With the first book is was true, so didn’t have to come up with any ideas. But my second book, as it is Fiction, the idea to hold of me when I was chatting to friends in Madeira.

Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

To be honest as this is my first time writing a book, I haven’t got any formulas, I think of ideas and write them down and then edit.

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it? 

Good question. First book, yes had title and 2nd book, also have a title. Does that trigger the story? For the 2nd book yes.

Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright? 

I feel that all genre’s are work in progress and there will always be a readership.

What themes are being overused?

None. Themes are there for everyone.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

Some movies are but I feel that with readers they will always read the book and even if the film doesn’t, at least they have read the book first.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

I feel that as an author, it is easier to published a book, instead of being rejected. Also self publishing is a way of being seen.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors?

I read both. I’m a debut author, so I hope people feel the same way. In fact my book has been read widely and doing very nicely, so I will always give the first time writer alot of my time. How do you choose which ones to read? I read what appeals to me, True stories, Thillers, adventure, even romantic books.

What is it about fantasy that appeals to you?

Sorry to say that I am just starting to read fantasy. So can’t comment as yet.

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

Of course.

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to?

My editor is my blood supply, I trust her and she is the only one who reads and comments. How much impact can they have on the whole story? With my first book my family are in the story, so they had a huge impact.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

Not at all. Just write and edit.

Do you have a target each day?

No, just go with the flow.

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

Writing my first and only book, it took 3 years with a 6 month break due to our newly born. But yes being in full time employment, there were breaks.

Do you have characters running around your head? 

Always, even now I have just thought of a great character. Do they dictate events and their histories to you? Depends on the story.

After so many books, how do you keep them unique?

Just written the one and as it is based on a true event, it is unique.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

Not completing one task per day.

Do you remember the first time you saw your book in a shop?

It is not in a shop as yet. But can be found on Amazon and sites such as WHSmiths. I also have the book in paperback, which if you give me your address, I will sign a copy and send to you.

Do you read other people’s writing?

All the time. Help’s me relax.

Would you read mine?

Of course. I’ve already taking a look on Amazom.

 

 

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smrxipMMtYo

Blog: http://thewrongplaceatthewrongtime.blogspot.com

Twitter: @davepperlmutter

Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/wrongplacewrongtimebook

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wrong-Place-Time-ebook/dp/B008955FG2/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_i

Amazon USA: http://www.amazon.com/Wrong-Place-Time-ebook/dp/B008955FG2/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1340553508&sr=8-2&keywords=wrong+place+wr

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/172668

Lulu: http://www.lulu.com/shop/david-p-perlmutter/wrong-place-wrong-time/ebook/product-20212975.html

