TekWar

William Shatner
Open Road
      Open Road

Pub Date                Nov 13 2012

Description

In this national bestseller, a private detective in twenty-second-century Los Angeles fights to destroy the synthetic high that nearly ruined him.
Not satisfied with the thrills of being one of Greater Los Angeles’ toughest cops, Jake Cardigan turns to Tek, a computerized brain stimulant which transports the user to any reality he can imagine. He’s soon addicted to this fantasy-enabler—and it isn’t long before Cardigan is accused of dealing. When he fails to convince the mechanized jury of his innocence, the state strips his badge and sentences him to fifteen years in suspended animation. Four years later he’s awakened. His sentence has been changed, but no one will tell him why. Cardigan’s search for answers takes him to Mexico, where a rogue scientist is attempting to rid the world of Tek. But these efforts have roused powerful enemies. Aiding this quest is the right thing to do, but for an ex-con, doing good can be the most dangerous decision of all.
My Review:
I will open this review by saying I wanted to like this book.  It is William Shatner, legend of stage and screen for shagging alien females of all colours.  You can’t really say shapes and sizes as they were always curvy by human standards.  I expected this to be Star Trek-ish with a healthy dose of James T. Kirk thrown in.
What did I get?  A novel that I don’t think was written by Shatner to start with.  Ron Goulart had a huge part in doing the leg work for this book and is even acknowledged by Shatner.  So did Goulart act as a ghost writer, or did Shatner write the atrocious dialogue we find in this book?
It is so bad at times that I laughed aloud at it.  The story itself is passable but nothing special.  The bit I did dislike was the ending – that bane of all writers.  The deus ex machina.  Yep, it happens.
So we have crappy dialogue and the bad ending.  But apart from that I actually found myself continuing to read it until I had finished.  It was interesting and silly and grabbed me.  What can I say?  Sometimes you need something that does not venture near seriousness on the odd ocassion.
My Rating:
3 out of 5
