Charity Parkerson scares me with her brand and style of writing.  The things she writes, well, it curls my toes.  From the sounds of it, it curls her toes as well.  Wow, this stuff is hot.  This interview has been sitting with me for a while now, but Charity has not nagged me at all about it.  (I think she’s probably too busy writing that next steamy scene.)

Not only is Charity good and prolific, she also hosts a internet show called the ‘Melissa Craig & Charity Parkerson Podcast’ and I’m pretty sure that gets out of control very easily for these two fine ladies.  Her blog also has an over 18 warning as you enter it.  Be careful!!

Here’s Charity:

What genre would you like to write a book in (that you haven’t yet)?  

I wish that I could do a murder-mystery. I have a lot of respect for people who can plan that far ahead. I’m more of a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kind of person.

Where do your ideas come from?  Do you have a standard formula for plots or do stories come to you as a whole construct?

I keep a dream diary and most of my stories have been based on those dreams. I usually have the beginning and end plotted out, but the rest of the story grows and changes as I get to know my characters. I’m only the writer. The characters decide their own fate.

When you start a new story, do you have a title for it?  Does that trigger the story?

With my Sinners Series, I try to work out the title before I start the book since I know that I want each of those book titles to include the word “Sinners”. With some of my other stories, I have had the entire book written with no idea what I was going to entitle it.

Do you see the future of fantasy and science fiction as bright?  If so, which authors are driving it?  

Right now the big things are Zombies and Erotica, not necessarily together, but those are the biggest sellers. With that being said, in my opinion, one of the brightest stars leading the way Science Fiction is Andrew Harding because he has mixed that genre with hard-core Erotica and it is flying off the virtual shelf on Amazon.

What themes are being overused?

Please forgive me E.L. but sometimes I think if I see one more person spin-off the title “50 shades-of-something-or-another” I will scream.

Are movies of books ruining the book?

Not at all. I know that most people, myself included, tend to leave the theater after watching a book to movie conversion thinking that the book was way better. However, it’s all an art form and it all begins as written word. It’s also almost impossible to transfer some of the emotions from paper to screen or make an 800 page book a two hour movie. There is so much talent on both sides of the table that the world is safe to keep buying books and going to the movies.

Do you see ebooks threatening traditional publishing?

Ebooks are the future but traditional publishers won’t fall. They’ve been in business so long and have experts to research these type things and they will move with the times and endure the changes. There will always be authors that prefer to work with a traditional publisher and there will always be readers that prefer to read books only published by traditional publishers, but Indies are beginning to carve their own path.  We are changing minds and gaining respect.

Do you prefer to read established authors or debut authors? How do you choose which ones to read?

I’m shallow     ha-ha! I buy books if I like the cover. I’m easily drawn in by an eye-catching cover. I never look to see if the author is new or not. I never read reviews either. I’m one of “those” 🙂

Can I get an autographed book? (lol)

Sure 😉

Do you have a group of people that you show a new story to? How much impact can they have on the whole story?  

I have 3 regular beta-readers that I use with each book and I truly value their opinions. They have been with me since the beginning and they can see if I’m making a mistake in the story line from one book in the series to the next. It is hard when writing a vampire series to keep from accidentally breaking any of the basic world rules that I set from the beginning so their insight is invaluable.

Do you set yourself a word limit for each book?

I just write and if I feel like it’s too short when I get to the end then I go back and see if anything could be expanded or filled in.

Do you have a target each day?

I wish that I had time to write each day!

Do you write constantly or have breaks between books?

I always have more than one story going at a time. I always have more ideas than I have hours in the day to dedicate to them.

Do you have characters running around your head?  Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

Sometimes they surprise even me with the direction they choose and won’t let me sleep from talking to each other.

After so many books, how do you keep them unique?

I try to keep challenging myself.

What is your biggest (self-imposed) time waster?

Twitter!!

Do you remember the first time you saw your book in a shop?

Oh yeah! I was that crazy lady taking pictures of the book rack. Those pictures are still on my Facebook page.

Do you read other people’s writing?

Yes.

Would you read mine?

Sure! I can add it to my really, really long TBR list 🙂

My latest books are “The Danger with Sinners~the third book in the Sinners Series” and “Double the Sin~Sinners 3.5 a Sinners erotic short”

My website is www.charityparkerson.com and my books can be found on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, and most online retailers.

