I am a ghost writer, and this is a very interesting job for a freelance professional writer. I started out freelancing in 1980, working mostly as a home health care aide for the disabled as my day job, and this gave me some material to write about in the Seattle area. As of 2003, I began a ghost writing and editing business on the Internet under the name Rainbow Writing, Inc., which I changed to Ghost Writer, Inc. in 2011. Nowadays I’m semi-retired, and I send out work to my team of ghost writers, editors, marketers and promoters of books, screenplays and other written works.

So I’m kept pretty busy by my job, sometimes as a ghost writer for certain projects, sometimes as a ghost writing service for the bulk of my writing projects. It’s a bit like being Sherlock Holmes – I only need to take on the “interesting cases” that come in. My role is usually that of an overseer or go-between when it comes to sending out work to my players/ghost writers, but I have to call on all my skills gained over the years when it comes to ghost writing and editing, whether it’s me or someone else who is doing the jobs for our incoming ghost writer clients.

The job of a ghost writer can be a thankless one. You get no real credit for your actual hard work; you only get paid, hopefully quite well, for the writing, editing and other work that you do. A lot of ghost writers like working with other people’s ideas, though, as it helps to be well compensated by the client when it comes to entertaining any of your own ideas and carefully merging them into the work. Being paid is motivation enough to do a great job each time for most ghost writers, and our company does our best through our ghost writing services to also arrange for the clients to get paid, through our marketing and promotions services.

It can also be pretty free-wheeling, the life of a professional ghost writer and editor. You can choose which jobs to take, what hours to work, what prices, fees and rates to set, etc. The client has a certain amount of control over you and your time, but you basically are your own boss and set your own schedules and rates. Gone are the days where you had to report to an editor or other project overseer; you only need to report directly to your clients on a steady, regular basis. And as a ghost writer of books and screenplays, you get to choose the genres you like to work with and which styles of writing you feel you’re best at when it comes to taking on ghost writing jobs. I prefer working with book writing projects over screenwriting projects myself, for instance.

My role as an overseer or go-between with my team of ghost writers, editors, marketers and promoters generally involves being the mediator in any disputes, handling questions from both the ghost writer and the client in each case, and always being at their disposal for any problems. I sometimes supply a contract for the ghost writer and the client to sign, but usually the ghost writers use their own writer’s contracts each time. It’s a lot easier for me than when I take on a ghost writing or editing job of my own, but it can have its ups and downs too, overseeing a ghost writing job.

I hire ghost writers on a regular basis to replace the ones who have moved on and have regular work now, thus not needing or having the time for any ghost writer referrals from me. I ask prospective applicants to send in a ghost writer resume and three representative samples, preferably published ones, all in editable Word documents. I then put all of those in my back files, and then I strip out all the last name and contact info from all four documents, putting them into my online writers’ files, which showcase samples from my ghost writers so that clients can review them. This works as a great way for clients to read the work of our ghost writers and to see which ones they would probably like to hire for their ghost writing, editing and other related jobs.

To wrap things up, it’s a fun and varied life being an online professional freelance ghost writer running a ghost writing service for over a hundred ghost writers and other workers. Ghost Writer, Inc. takes up a lot of my time and energy, but it’s my role as the President of this agency to assign work to people on an ongoing basis, and to oversee their efforts in a professional and timely manner. And it’s also my job to occasionally ghost write books, and to edit work that needs the special touch of a professional to bring it to a final gleam of professional excellence – so that it can be presented to literary agents and publishers in a correct and formal manner.

Brief Bio of Karen Cole:

I am the President of Ghost Writer, Inc., on the Internet since 2003 delivering ghost writing, editing, marketing and promotions work to clients in a timely and professional manner. We have over 100 team member ghost writers and other professionals, representing every genre and form of manuscript, book, script and screenplay writing, and almost every other form of freelance writing as well.

www.rainbowriting.com/ghostwriter.htm

Facebook: www.facebook.com/ghostwriterwriting

Twitter: @karencole37 or http://twitter.com/search?q=%40karencole37&src=typd

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/karencole37

